Friday, 7 March 2014

Sheila Dikshit appointed new Kerala governor

Nikhil Kumar resigned: Sheila Dikshit appointed new Kerala governor
 Wed, March 5, 2014 current affairs

Former Delhi chief minister Shiela Dikshit was on Tuesday named as governor of Kerala. She replaces Nikhil Kumar, who has held the post since March 2013.

  • Dikshit, who had contested the 2013 Assembly Elections from the New Delhi Constituency, had lost against the newly formed Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal with a big margin of around 20000 votes.
  • Governor of Kerala Nikhil Kumar has resigned from his post and is likely to contest the elections from the Aurangabad seat in Bihar, which he had won in 2004.
  • The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee has appointed him as the new Governor of Kerala on 9 March 2013.
  • Nikhil Kumar is a former IPS officer and an Indian politician who was Governor of Nagaland from 2009 to 2013 and Governor of Kerala from 2013 to 2014
  • He was a member of the 14th Lok Sabha of India, representing the Aurangabad constituency in Bihar as a member of the Indian National Congress (INC) political party.
  • Kumar also served as Chief of the National Security Guards and as Delhi Commissioner of Police.

No comments:

Post a comment